TCM Excellence Award

TCM Excellence Award 01

The TCM Excellence Award is given to members in recognition of their contributions to AACE through a technical subcommittee or SIG, or by a member at large, who has been instrumental in the development of technical products such as recommended practices, professional practice guides, Cost Engineers' Notebook, or other technical writings directed to the advancement of the precepts of total cost management.  Membership in AACE is required.


TCM Excellence Award Winners

  • John K. Hollmann, PE CCP CEP DRMP FAACE Hon. Life
  • Todd W. Pickett, CCP CEP FAACE
  • Jessica Colbert, PSP
  • Dave Kyle, CCP CEP
  • Feng Shen, PSP
  • Nelson Bonilla, CCP FAACE and Peter W. Griesmyer, FAACE
  • H. Lance Stephenson, CCP FAACE
  • Ricardo Viana Vargas, CCP
  • Valerie G. Venters CCP FAACE
  • Kimberly A. Hunter, EVP
  • James D. Whiteside, PE
  • Joseph A. Brown CCE FAACE Hon. Life; and Philips Tharakan Mulackal CCE EVP
  • Peter R. Bredehoeft Jr. CEP; and Charles P. "Chick" Woodward PE CCE CEP
  • Glenn C. Butts CCC; and Donald F. McDonald Jr. PE CCE PSP FAACE Hon. Life
  • Robert B. Brown, PE
  • H. Christian Heller
  • Curt L. Springmeier, CCC
  • Dr. Scott J. Amos, PE
  • Wesley R. Querns, CCE; and Kul B. Uppal, PE
  • Larry R. Dysert, CCC; and Bernard A. Pietlock, CCC
  • Mark T. Chen, PE CCE
John K. Hollmann, PE CCP CEP DRMP FAACE Hon. Life

John K. Hollmann, PE CCP CEP DRMP FAACE Hon. Life – John joined AACE in 1986. He became a Certified Cost Professional (CCP) in 1994, a Certified Estimating Professional (CEP) in 2008, and a Decision & Risk Management Professional (DRMP) in 2013. Through his work on the task forces that developed both the CEP and DRMP certifications, he was grandfathered into both designations.  John has been a frequent presenter of technical presentations at AACE’s Conferences and other events. He was the principal author of the first edition of AACE’s 2006 landmark publication “The Total Cost Management Framework: An Integrated Approach to Portfolio, Program, and Project Management.”  John authored the publication “Project Risk Quantification: A Practitioners Guide to Realistic Cost and Schedule Risk Management” in 2016.  He has served the AACE in various roles including chairs of multiple technical subcommittees. He was elected to and served on AACE’s Board of Directors for one year (1996-1997) where he was instrumental in the reorganization of the Board to create three Associate Boards (Technical/Education/Certification). John was a member of the Technical Board for several years where he served as Director of Recommended Practices and Director of Total Cost Management. John has been a contributor or author to 78 Recommended Practices (RPs). He is the Owner/Principal Consultant at Validation Estimating, LLC. John has previously been recognized by AACE with the Outstanding Technical Committee Chair Award (1994, 1996), O.T. Zimmerman Founder’s Award (2005), Fellow (2006), Award of Merit (2008), Technical Excellence (2010), Honorary Life Membership (2011), and the Lifetime Achievement Award (2018).