News Details

Election Results Announced

by AACE International | Mar 17, 2017

Election Results Announced

President - Elect

Alexia Nalewaik
Alexia Nalewaik, CCP FAACE
Principal Consultant/Owner QS Requin Corporation

Members of AACE International have elected Dr. Alexia Nalewaik, CCP FAACE, as President Elect for 2017-2018. She will take office in June at the Annual Meeting in Orlando Florida. Dr. Nalewaik is a project controls director with 25 years of experience in the industry. She joined AACE International in 1994. She holds a Ph.D. in project and program management, an MS in structural engineering, and a BA in physics. Alexia is a CCP, a certified construction auditor, and a chartered quantity surveyor. She is a Fellow of AACE International, RICS, and ICEC.

The following individuals have also been elected to AACE’s Board of Directors and will take office in June:

Vice President - Administration

Chris Caddell
Chris Caddell, PE CCP DRMP

Turner & Townsend Inc

Mr. Caddell has enjoyed being a member of AACE International for over 15 years, participating and contributing in a number of different ways. Drawing on his experience, he has authored or coauthored eight papers on varying topics in estimating, planning and scheduling, risk management, project controls and owner issues. Most recently, he has been serving as the Director of Region 5, covering Texas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Nebraska, with the addition now of Arizona and Utah. 

VP Regions - International

Mohammed Rafiuddin
Mohammed Rafiuddin, CCP PSP


Mr. Rafiuddin has been an active member of AACE International since 2006 with 29 years of experience in project management, contracts management, project controls. He is currently serving as CEO and General Manager of BIOSI, a health care management company. Mohammed was the Director Region 7 for the term 2014-16 during which Qatar Section, with over 150 members and Saudi Arabia Westcoast Section, were formed.

Director - Region 3

John Philbrick
John C. Philbrick, PE CCP

PMA Consultants LLC

For over 37 years, he has worked in project controls, project scheduling, scheduling development/analysis/training, cost estimating, cost controls and claims analysis.    Mr. Philbrick has been a part of project management teams for major road, airport, infrastructure, architectural, manufacturing/process, theme parks, electric transmission and water/wastewater projects in the eastern United States. 

Director - Region 5

Josh Rowan
Josh Rowan, CCP

Mr. Rowan is an executive in the energy industry and has been an active member of AACE since 2008.  Prior to work in the energy sector, Mr. Rowan served four years in the U.S. Army, where he earned the Bronze Star Medal for service in Iraq and the Louisiana Humanitarian Service Medal for support operations in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina.  Following military service, Josh returned to Houston where he joined the Houston Gulf Coast Section (HGCS).  He has been on the HGCS Board of Directors since 2013, serving as Vice President (2014 – 2015) then President (2015 – 2016). 

Director - Region 6

Mark von Leffern
Mark von Leffern, EVP PSP

Hill International

Mr. von Leffern has been an active member of AACE International since 2012. He has served as Newsletter Chair (2012-2014). Vice President (2013-2014). President (2014-2015). Program Chair and Executive Director of the joint San Francisco/Southern California Western Winter Workshop (2015-2017) and Executive Director of the Southern CA Fall Symposium (2014). In 2015, Mark received the Charles V. Keane Distinguished Service Award for his dedication and support of the professional image of cost engineering.

Director - Region 8

Laurie Bowman
Laurie Bowman, CCP DRMP EVP PSP

Mr. Bowman has 20+ years of experience in project controls, planning and scheduling, and risk management. He works as the Principal for his consultancy Synchrony, where his focus is on helping organizations improve their project controls maturity and helping people improve their project controls competency through training and coaching. Laurie has worked on both sides, including owner and contractor, as well as consultant and trainer with multiple firms and industries including: TfNSW, Origin, Boeing, Sedgman, Bechtel, BHP and QR.

Director - Region 10

Jeancarlo Duran Maica
Jeancarlo Duran Maica, CCP EVP

Ansaldo STS

Mr. Durán Maica, CCP EVP, has over eight years of experience in project controls and has an engineering and construction background, leading planning and control teams in large EPC projects.  He has been an active member of AACE International since 2013. He has served as President of the AACE Perú Section and also he has been participating as a member of the AACE Latin America Task Force. Jeancarlo serves as an Integrated Planner for Ansaldo STS, working as Head of Planning in "Metro de Lima" Project - Line 2 with a CAPEX of 5.7 billion USD. He speaks fluent English, Portuguese, and Spanish.

About AACE